RSS

Chauncey Lamont Hawkins: April 19, 2013 (Upon Witnessing Gaflah, Parts 1 and 2 with Sound)

08 May

[UPDATE: July 15th Hearing, Still in need of legal funds due to postponing of trial ]

BismillahiRrahmaniRrahim
Alhumdulillahi Rabbilalamin
Wassalaatu wassalaam ala rasulillah wa ala alihi wa sahbihi wa ajmaeen

My brothers and sisters in Islam, Assalamualikum waRahmatullahi wa Barkatuhu, this is your brother, Amir calling from New Hanover County Detention Facility in Castle Hayne, North Carolina.

Inshallah ta’ala, first I would like to praise Allah subahana wa ta’ala, and I would also like to say Jazakumullahu Khayran for all of the support, for all the prayers, and dua from all the brothers and sisters

Inshallah I would like to share with you all some of the major benefits and experiences that I’ve endured these past seventeen months that I’ve been in federal custody.

Alhumdulillah, from the very beginning I was fortunate enough to make the pilgrimage to the Ka’bah, Meccca. I was able to make Hajj in 2007, and I was able to sit with some of the major scholars of Ahul Sunnah, and some of the Tulaab as well, many of the students in Madinah University. Alhumdulillah, those two [events] together are the start of the many benefits that I’ve endured during the seventeen months that I’ve been incarcerated.

After leaving Hajj, I returned back to Egypt where I was living and studying Arabic and Quran. I stopped there for about an hour,  to drop off some books and things that I bought for my family from my stay in Saudia. About an hour later I made my way to the airport to travel to Belgium to give a talk at the grand mosque in Belgium and also the Islamic University. By the decree of Allah subhana wata’ala I was stopped in the airport by Interpol and was told I had a federal indictment in the eastern district of North Carolina. And this marks the start of the many benefits that I’ve endured, starting in Belgium.

Just to bring everybody up to speed, I would like to take the time to share with you just the benefits from this point to the point of my release and return home to my family, inshallah ta’ala; these benefits that come with this test and trial that Allah subhana wata’ala has placed upon me and my family.

So first and foremost, in Belgium  Alhumdulillah, being in a prison where 90% of the inmates there were Muslim, the only thing that was very difficult for me in the very beginning is that I don’t speak French and I don’t speak Dutch. But by the Mercy of Allah subhana wata’ala and the little bit of Arabic that was distilled in me from my studies in Egypt, I was able to communicate with many of the Muslims there through their [versions?] from Morocco, Algeria, Lybia, things of this nature. So Alhumdulillah, I was able to communicate with my brothers in the prison, and this acted as one of the major benefits of being incarcerated in Belgium.

But one of the hardest things for me to endure was, and May Allah make us better, was the negligence of some of the Muslims there. Because there was another brother there by the name of Sami, May Allah preserve him and increase him in good, we were very adamant about establishing the Salat and establishing all the things that are obligatory upon us as Muslims.

So there would be times I would enter the yard and there would be like 30 or maybe 40 Muslims: “Assalamaualikum Brother amir! Kaifa Haluk akhi? Assalamualikum!” “Waalikumsalaam” Alhumdulillah, I would enjoy the energy in the greetings from the Muslims.

But Subhanallah, when my brother Sami would call the Athan and the ranks were filled, there would be, subhanallah, maybe five of us. Five Muslims making a Salat. After entering the yard, there were 40-45 Muslims  all giving the greeting upon entering the yard, but once the Athan was called, five of us were praying.

And this is one of the harships to me; seeing that there were Muslims  majority of them born and raised as Muslims in Muslim countries, neglecting the obligation that Allah subhana wata’ala has commanded us to observe.

The first thing after accepting Islam, the first thing that becomes obligatory after the Shahadah is Salat. So this is one of the hardships of being in this situation form the very beginning. The warm embrace that came from the Muslims and the brotherhood that comes with Islam; this is one of the benefits. But one of the hardships, and may Allah increase us and make us better, was the negligence that comes from many of the Muslims today who neglect their obligation of worshipping Allah subhana wata’ala in the manner He commanded us to worship Him.

So hearing the Athan being called by the brother, who mashallah had a beautiful voice, who called the Athan so beautifully that it would incline your heart toward the worship of Allah subhana wata’ala. So after the Athan was called, I would find myself or my brother Sami leading the Salat, standing shoulder to shoulder, with only four or five muslims,

Later on I will bring you up to speed on the first six months I spent in Belgium. This was one of the benefits; being around the Muslims and the major hardship was being around Muslims who neglected the obligation of worshipping Allah subhana wata’ala. May Allah subhana wata’ala rectify our affairs. May Allah increase us in Eeman and Taqwa. May Allah increase us in our obedience to Him and our worship to Him,and our remembrance of Him. And may Allah subhana wata’ala make us amongst those who are righteous and make us amongst those who are patient and enduring of all hardships.

Jazakumullahu Khayran wa Barakallahu feekum

Assalamualikum waRahmatullahi wa Barakatuhu

BismillahiRrahmaniRrahim
Alhumdulillahi Rabbilalamin
Wassalaatu wassalaam ala rasulillah wa ala alihi wa sahbihi wa ajmaeen

My dear brothers and sisters in Islam, Assalamualikum waRahmatullahi wa Barkatuhu, May this message reach you in the best state of Emaan and Taqwa, May Allah subhana wata’ala forgive all your sins and shortcomings, and may He subhana wata’ala reward you for all your good deeds done solely for His pleasure. And may He ‘azza wajal ta’ala protect you from all things evil that He ordains, Ameen.

My brothers and sisters in Islam, first and foremost I’d like to praise Allah subhana wata’ala and I’d also like to thank you all immensely and ask Allah subhana wata’ala to reward you all immensely for all your support, all your prayers, all your dua for my family and myslef . Jazakumullahu Khayran, wa Assalamualikum waRahmatullahi waBarkatuhu.

Allah subhana wata’ala mentions in His Glorious Book: And the life of this world is nothing but play and amusement. But far better is the house in the Hereafter for those who are Al-Muttaqun. Will you not then understand? (Suratul An’am 6:32) My dear brothers and sisters, I mention this as a reminder first and foremost to myself, and a reminder to you, barakallhufeekum. Many times we have been constantly reminded in the Book of Allah and in the authentic sunnah of our beloved Prophet Muhummad salallahu alaihi wassalam, about abstaining from the evil in the dunya and striving hard for that which is with Allah subhana wata’ala, al Jannah.

As Muslims we have been giving the greatest incentive for being obedient to Allah subhana wata’ala and His messenger salallahu alaihi wassalam and staying firm upon the Quran and Sunnah, with the understanding of the sahabah radhiallahuanhum,

Know that we will be held accountable to the warnings from the Quran and Sunnah, and from the scholars of Ahlul Sunnah past and present. We continue to neglect the fact that Allah azza wajal has a care He placed in those who believe in His Oneness and strive hard in obedience to Him and His messenger salallahu alaihi wassalam.

So why do we allow our hearts to focus on the love of this dunya? Do we not understand? Do we honestly believe the life of this world is better than the hereafter? Aouthubillah. I want you to understand: I love you for the sake of Allah subhana wata’ala and I want for you what I want for myself and my family. And I must warn you  that the life of this world is nothing. Absolutely nothing compared to that which is with Allah subhana wata’ala.

And Allah ‘azza wajal says that Day He gathers the muttaqun unto the Most Beneficient, like a delegate presented before a King of Honor. (Surah Maryam, 19:85) So I ask you my brothers and sisters in Islam, do you not want to be gathered amongst the righteous like the delegate presented before a King of Honor?

My dear brothers and sisters, it brings great pain to my heart to see so many Muslims  whether born and raised or reverted to Islam, destroying themselves by imitating those who chose the life of the dunya over the hereafter.

Please ponder on the verses of Allah subhana wata’ala and the many favours He has bestowed upon you, and ask yourself where you want your final abode to be; Jannah or Jahannam?

May Allah subhana wata’ala purify our intentions, increase us in Eman and Taqwa, Patience and Gratitutde, May Allah subhana wata’ala continue to bestow His mercy and favour upon us and our families, and May Allah ‘azza wajal make us from amongst the people of Jannah, inshallah ta’ala .

I mentioned this as a reminder to myself first and foremost. For the seventeen months thus far that I’ve been incarcerated, I’ve seen many benefits of being patient, and enduring with patience, and being grateful for the blessings that Allah subhana wata’ala has bestowed upon me and my family. And once again, I would like to thank everyone who supported us, who prayed for us, who made dua for us, and who have contributed in this time of trial and adversity, inshallah ta’ala may Allah reward you in abundance and May Allah subhana wata’ala increase you in that which brings Him pleasure and that which earns us His Mercy, and by way of His Mercy we shall enter Paradise, inshallah ta’ala.

Jazakumullahu Khairan wa Barakallahu feekum

Assalamualikum waRahmatullahi waBarakatuhu

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Chauncey Lamont Hawkins: April 19, 2013 (Upon Witnessing Gaflah, Parts 1 and 2 with Sound)

  1. Fulan

    May 11, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    subhan Allah, may Allah strengthen all our asra and their families and hasten their release. It is a sad reality and this is what happens even in the lands with majority Muslim. May Allah guide us to piety.

     
  2. amatullah

    May 19, 2013 at 5:10 am

    As salaam alakium
    I would liketo know are u married if not can
    I have your address so I can write u inshallah

     
    • aseerun

      May 19, 2013 at 7:13 am

      Wa alaikumsalaam Warahmatullahi Wabarkatuhu,

      Dear Sister, May ALlah reward you for your concern and intention. Yes, the brother is married, however, you can send messages of support to his wife and children via the loon2amir@gmail.com address, Insha’Allah,

      Barakallahu Feeki,
      Wasalaam Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuhu

       

Leave a Reply

 
