RSS

Babar Ahmad: The Promised Land

11 Oct

Wave after wave batters me,
With brine, dark and cold,
But I will get through this stormy sea,
So my story will be told.
Fate tastes bitter on my lips
My will is sapped, but not yet dead
I breathe life in painful sips
For destiny weighs heavier than lead.

From time to time a boat appears,
That some day I will board,
Even if it be a few more years,
For the Pleasure of my Lord.
At the rising sun the night will clear
Its rays will shimmer on the sand.
So I will face my every fear
Until I reach the Promised Land.

– Babar Ahmad, August 2012
HMP Long Lartin

Find out more how to help Babar see his family.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 11, 2012 in Habsiyya, Poems by Babar Ahmad

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
