RSS

Adel Abdul Bary: The Hopes of a Child and the Forbidden Dream

06 Oct

My little girl, born two months after my arrest, asks,
When can I be with you for a whole day?
When will you come with me to school?
I say, “Inshallah…soon”.

That night I decide to see her in my dreams but…

I retract…
When I hear the guard call, “Applications!

I realise I must hand in my form to the governor
So that he will let me spend time
With my little girl,
In my dreams.

So I look the guard in the eyes and say,
As they have taught us,
Please excuse me,
I won’t go back to those dreams
”.

 

-Adel Abdul Bary, translated from Arabic 
HMP Long Lartin, June 2008

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 6, 2012 in Habsiyya, Poems by Adel Abdul Bary

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Adel Abdul Bary: The Hopes of a Child and the Forbidden Dream

  1. Fulan

    October 8, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Subhan Allah!! very touching. may Allah release our imprisoned and return them to their families

     

Leave a Reply

 
